Stephen Whiteside launches new book of poetry for kids

Stephen Whiteside.jpg

You're invited to the launch of Stephen Whiteside's fabulous new book of rhyming verse for kids

The Billy That Died With Its Boots On
and other Australian Verse

on Sunday 18th May at 3pm at Readings Bookshop,
701 Glenferrie Road, Hawthorn
To be launched by entertainer, poet and reciter Geoffrey W. Graham.
RSVP 9th May
swhiteside@netspace.net.au
or mobile 0400 729780
Partners welcome

Published by Walker Books
 
With beautiful paper cutout illustrations by Lauren Merrick
ISBN 9781922077431
For ages 9+

Following in the tradition of Banjo Paterson, Henry Lawson and CJ Dennis, these 65 wonderful poems, on a huge variety of subjects, are written to be read aloud in the campfire spirit. While primarily for children, the anthology will also be popular with adults who want to introduce children to the rich Australian heritage of rhyming verse.

Congrats Stephen!







Master Classes are Open for all SCBWI Members!

As a special feature of the SCBWI International Conference, outstanding presenters conduct the optional 3-hour Master Classes on Wednesday 16th July 2014. Bookings have been opened up for all SCBWI Members but only a few remain in each class so Book Now!

The presenters are:


ConnieHsu.jpg

Connie Hsu
Senior Commissioning Editor, Roaring Brook USA

Connie Hsu accepted the role in 2014 of Senior Commissioning Editor for Roaring Brooks, an imprint of Pan MacMillan USA. While at Little Brown Books for Young Readers, Connie Hsu acquired everything from board books to YA. She loves books that give readers a visceral reaction, be it goose bumps, butterflies, or a surprised laugh. She has worked with award-winning and bestselling authors and illustrators such as Tom Lichtenheld (This is a Moose), Dan Santat (Crankenstein, The Adventures of Beekle), Nina Laden and Renata Liwksa (Once Upon a Memory), and Pseudonymous Bosch (The Secret Series, Bad Magic). She has worked with Australian authors such as R.A. Spratt (Nanny Piggins) and Simon Higgins (Moonshadow), and has a new YA novel forthcoming with Ransom Riggs (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children)

 

Bruce Whatley
Internationally and nationally acclaimed Australian illustrator

Bruce Whatley is one of the most highly regarded and talented authors and illustrators for children, both in Australia and internationally. Bruce started his working life in advertising as an art director and illustrator and since then he has created over 60 picture books. His books have won awards both in Australia and overseas, including The Ugliest Dog in the World, Looking for Crabs, Tails from Grandad’s Attic and Detective Donut, The Little Refugee, Whately’s Quest and The Wild Goose Chase.  He write and illustrates his own books as well as is part of the dynamic duo with Jackie French creating the multi million selling books in the Diary of a Wombat brand.


Meredith Costain
Meredith Costain is a commissioning editor, editorial consultant for publishing houses, reviewer, award winning children’s author. She commissiona and writes in a wide variety of genres including picture books, chapter books, novels, series in both fiction and non fiction in trade, commercial, educational and licensed material such as Dance Academy and Bindi


Master Classes – Wednesday 16th July

9am to noon:
Connie Hsu—Diversity in All Types of Books
Bruce Whatley—Crafting the Picture Book
Meredith Costain—Hooks to Keep Readers Turning Pages

1pm to 4pm:
Connie Hsu—Hands On Picture Book Intensive
Bruce Whatley—Advanced Techniques

Cost: $95—3 hour session—Bookings have been opened up for all SCBWI Members but only a few places remain in each class so Book Now!

Kim Fleming launches her new picture book

Congrats to Kim Fleming for the beautiful illustrations for

Mummy You're Special to Me

written by Laine Mitchell

To be launched at the Hill of Content Bookshop, 80 Bourke Street, Melbourne on Sun May 4 at 11.30am, with some of the illustrations exhibited at different locations around Melbourne.

Published by Scholastic Australia  
ages 3+

Follow little Giraffe's journey in this beautiful story with it's superb watercolour illustrations. A wonderful gift for mums and bubs!

Great - good luck with the launch Kim!