SCBWI ACT Presents: Guided tour of NLA Story Time exhibition


Canberra's Stephanie Owen Reeder has written the beautiful companion book to the upcoming exhibition at the National Library of Australia—Story Time: Australian Children’s Literature. SCBWI ACT members are invited to an exclusive guided tour of the exhibition!

The afternoon will includes:
A guided tour
An opportunity to purchase a signed copy of the book
An informal coffee catch up at Book Plate Cafe

Please arrive at 1.15pm, tickets available to current SCBWI members only

On Saturday 31 August 2019 at 1:15pm


National Library of Australia
Parkes Pl W, , Canberra, ACT 2600

Read more here:

CBCA Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program


ONLY 2 WEEKS TO GO! Entries close July 31, 2019

** Please note that due to problems with the CBCA NSW Branch website, below are the entry form, terms and conditions, how to prepare a pitch and pitch form. Submissions remain as per instructions on the terms and conditions **

Original Press Release
CBCA NSW Branch is pleased to announce that entries are open for the 2019 Aspiring Writers Mentorship Program (AWMP), sponsored by Scholastic Australia. The aim of this national award is to foster the talent of an unpublished author of children’s literature. In 2019 the AWMP is open to picture book and junior fiction manuscripts.

The Winner of the AWMP will receive the Charlotte Waring Barton Award and a mentorship with Scholastic Australia, to include two three-hour mentoring sessions with an author selected by Scholastic Australia, and a one-hour mentoring session with each of the following Scholastic Australia employees: an editor, a marketing communications manager and a publisher.

Entries close on Wednesday 31 July 2019. A long list of entrants will be notified by the AWMP Convenor on or around November 22, 2019. The Winner and runners up will be announced on Thursday 28 November 2019 at an evening event in Sydney.

Authors whose careers have been launched by this award include the best-selling/award winning Michelle Cooper, Kirsty Eager, Jacqueline Harvey and Oliver Phommavanh.
Links to:

For further information, please contact AWMP Convenor Sarah Foster on or Felicity Jagavkar in the CBCA NSW Branch office on